Mountain Project Logo

How To Get Cams for Indian Creek?

Original Post
Andrew L · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2017 · Points: 0

Just curious if the more experienced had any great advice on how to find enough cams to climb some awesome routes in Indian Creek? I am just starting out in trad, and will be at Indian Creek for a few weeks, but I do not know when I would might make it back in the future. I am certain that many others have been in my same spot where you do not want to buy a ton of cams that you may never need again, so curious to know other people's ideas. 

Thanks

Chase Bowman · · Durango, CO · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 1,010

Troll?

just ask around your friends man or try to meet some people around the campsites there if you can climb with them.

grog m · · Saltlakecity · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 70

When asking strangers to borrow gear it obviously depends person to person...people might not let you lead with their gear (No offense but I wouldnt want you getting my gear stuck) but if I had a TR set up then by all means ask and I will let you take a ride. Or if I had the gear in place and was hanging out I might let you take a burn on it. 

Otherwise you will have to hunt out routes that take a variety of cam sizes. There are plenty at the creek that you can get away with doubles and triples of things. 

Edit - some example routes - chocolate corner, unknown 5.9 to the right of chocolate corner, Owl crack if you have triples, twin cracks

Optimistic · · New Paltz · Joined Aug 2007 · Points: 450

Borrowing from partners at home is definitely a key part of it. I'd guess I brought 10 or 15 borrowed cams last time I went to IC, and in addition was traveling with another partner who was out for a year and brought an extensive rack. 

The other thing is that you can pick a size to focus on. It sounds like you're just getting started, so I'd say that gold and blue camalots would be your first thing to double or triple up on.