Mountain Project Logo

Beginners Crack Climbing in Colorado

Original Post
McPherson McPherson · · denver, CO · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 0

Im new to crack climbing. Im able to do laps in the gym but looking to get outside and climb cracks and plug gear. Where should I look for beginner crack climbs?

Mathias · · Loveland, CO · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 306

I've never been to Turkey Rocks, but from what I've seen on the route guide, it has a high concentration of long cracks at varying grades. Most of it looks like one or two pitches.  Definitely worth considering.

Long Ranger · · Boulder, CO · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 669

Many of the easy moderates at Turkey Rocks are offwidths, just FYI. 

"Fun"! 

Mathias · · Loveland, CO · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 306

If you want a few nice routes for one day and are willing to try 5.7-5.8, The Coliseum in Saint Vrains Canyon is a great spot for hand and fist sized. The Rock is pretty easy on the skin as I remember. The approach is fairly steep and you have to cross the river (there was a tyrol last time I went), but it was a lot of fun.

Glenn Schuler · · Monument, Co. · Joined Jun 2006 · Points: 1,330

11 Mile Canyon has some good moderate crack routes. Upside Down Staircase (The Staircase) and Hollow Flake on Arch Rock are both beginner friendly. 

Stagg54 Taggart · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2006 · Points: 10

Vedauwoo...

McPherson McPherson · · denver, CO · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 0

Thanks guys I really appreciate it

joe trabucco · · Boulder, co · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

lumpy ridge

cyclestupor · · Woodland Park, Colorado · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 91