Mountain Project Logo

Using Prusik with ATC for belayer

Original Post
Nicha Lee · · Pasadena, CA · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

I'm quite new to climbing. I have been using ATC-XP for a belaying device when I go outdoor. I always imagine a case when a rock falls and makes the belayer goes unconscious and drops the climber (ref: rockandice.com/climbing-acc…). Obviously, using an assisted braking device like Grigri might help prevent this scenario. However, I don't want to use Grigri because 1) I have been reading about that it can make the belayer becomes lazy in keeping the break hand on 2) heard a few events that went wrong with misusing Grigri including Ashima's fall and 3) need to buy and learn a new skills that might confuse me when i switch the device.

Anyway, I'm thinking that using a prusik attach to the leg loop of the belayer(like one does during a rappel) might help prevent dropping the climber when unfortunate events happen. Any suggestion, thoughts?

Eric Danner · · The People's Republic of Bo… · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 0

There are many other belay devices. It is not just the atc and the grigri. Do some research online or ask people where you do you climbing what there thoughts are.

I love the grigri I think it is awesome. I would also stand my ground and say I am far from a lazy belayer.

As far as the idea you have with the prusik there is a reason no body else is doing it.

Andrew Williams · · Concord, NH · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 625

Edelrid MegaJul is an assisted locking device that functions just like an ATC.

Old lady H · · Boise, ID · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 1,374