Mountain Project Logo

Route Grade Variance

Original Post
FourT6and2 ... · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 45

I'm back in my home state visiting family. While I'm here, I've been hitting up the local climbing gym. And I am seriously demoralized because every route here is so much harder! I've been climbing for two years and I'm bouldering V3-V4 normally, with some V5s here and there (in the gym). And I can TR 11d with a 12a here or there and lead 11c. Outdoors, I think I've TR'd a 10d or 11a for my max.

This gym I'm at now? Wow. I am struggling on some V1s and V2s and Top Roping a 5.10 feels like a 5.11d or 5.12a at my home gym.

Is this normal? Is my home gym seriously too easy? Is this gym way too hard? I don't really chase grades. But it's something I noticed.

Eric Carlos · · Soddy Daisy, TN · Joined Aug 2008 · Points: 121

Sounds like one gym is super soft and the other super stiff. No way to know unless you compare them to outdoor grades across many different areas.

BrianWS · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 790

Gym ratings are incredibly variable from franchise to franchise, location to location. Kind of like outdoor grading.
Some gyms are comically soft (thinking of a certain Boulder franchise) at all grades, stout in the lower end and soft once you advance in grade, and of course, vice versa (looking at earth treks).

A lot of it depends on the setters and their experience with routes or boulders - an avid and skilled boulder or route climber can set fun and accurately graded problems below, ar, or above their grade limit. Less experienced climbers, or ones that primarily boulder or never do ropes, will have a more difficult time getting accurate grades in areas where they do not have as much experience, hence wild variations in grades.