Mountain Project Logo

Beginner Trad Advice???

Original Post
Andrew Smith · · Dallas, TX · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 60

Hello all,

I am looking to make the shift from outdoor sport climbing to traditional climbing. I have friends that are into sport but unfortunately do not know anyone that is into trad climbing. I am looking forward to exploring areas that are unbolted. In terms of ability, I can lead successfully up to 5.11a outside. Being a novice, I would appreciate any advice you can give on how to start learning, what a "standard rack" would consist of, resources, etc.? I live in Dallas, TX so I will naturally have to travel to places like Wichita Wildlife Preserve in Oklahoma, Sam's Throne in Arkansas, and Enchanted Rock near Austin on weekends to begin to learn. Thanks everyone for the advice!

Andrew

Paul Hutton · · Nephi, UT · Joined Mar 2012 · Points: 740

Delete this thread and look up existing threads

Travis Provin · · Boulder CO · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 105

1. Read this then read it again

2. Post in the partners forum for your local area, find a mentor

3. Starter trad rack

Follow, aid, mock lead, place gear, and as others have said, search...

Alex James · · Redmond, WA · Joined May 2016 · Points: 191

Since you sounds like you don't know any competent trad climbers, I would suggest hiring a guide. They would give you a good solid base of knowledge instead of some random person you befriend just so you can learn trad. Once you have some fundamentals down from a professional source you can go out with other people. This way you can at least know when they're fucking up and not being safe instead of being oblivious.

I would also recommend hiring said guide for a weekend before you go invest in gear. That way you get some idea of what you want to buy and if trad climbing is even for you. Everyone's rack is slightly different in terms of what brand cams they carry, whether they carry hexes or tricams etc.