Mountain Project Logo

Devil's Lake Climbing Partners this Sunday or Monday?

Original Post
Bluedirt · · Denver, CO · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 240

I will be visiting the Madison area this weekend. Weather looks good for Sunday and Monday and I'm looking for DL climbing partners. Is anyone interested in top roping? I can lead and lead-belay, but not planning on bringing gear (other than personal gear) and Im looking for a low-key TR day. I have been climbing for more than 10 years and on TR can do 11s (maybe easier at the lake?). Would be happy to give you a catch on anything though. PM me if you are interested!

Ethan Clark · · Verona WI · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 260

I live around Madison, I haven't done ropes in a year or 2, just bouldering. I'd love to get back into ropes if you'd be willing to work with me a bit, or meeting up for some bouldering. I'll either be there, or Gov. Dodge this weekend.

Doug Hemken · · Madison, WI · Joined Oct 2004 · Points: 13,678

There will certainly be plenty of folks out on Sunday. Can't say about my own plans yet.

Max Rieg · · Portland, OR · Joined May 2016 · Points: 5

I was planning on trying to drag my wife up to Devil's Lake this weekend. We don't quite crush 5.11 but if you're willing to aim a bit lower hit me up and we might be able to make something work!

Also, not sure if it will dry out by then / what rock will be looking like.

Did you have something specific you were looking to climb?

Will Schira · · Madison, WI · Joined Mar 2010 · Points: 20

I'll be there be TRing with a 2-3 others somewhere sunny on the east rampart on Sunday. We'll probably set two lines, one 5.7/5.8 and the other 5.9/+

Hammocks, food, and beer are the other three essentials we're bringing. We'll be there early and likely all day.

Ted Pinson · · Chicago, IL · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 252

If you climb 5.11 you might make it up a 5.9 at the Lake.;)

CRAG-list-KILLA · · Wisconsin · Joined Feb 2016 · Points: 205