Mountain Project Logo

2017 AMC Rock Climbing Program

Original Post
Aaron Guillotte · · Boston · Joined May 2016 · Points: 15

Hey All - so I know most everyone that frequents MP is a climber, but I thought perhaps some of you may have a friend or family member who was interested in starting to climb outdoors, but didn't trust you (kidding!). In any case, the Mountaineering Committee for the Boston chapter of the AMC puts on this great outdoor rock climbing program every year (I'm a former student), and I thought I'd make a little announcement about it here. **AMC is a non-profit, so I'm hoping there are no issues with me posting this here**

The Rock Program covers the basic skills to climb safely outdoors: belaying (with an emphasis on belaying a leader), toprope anchor building, ascending a rope, and rappelling. The emphasis is on learning to safely follow a leader on multi-pitch trad climbs. The weekends are led by experienced volunteer instructors and it's a great way to meet other local climbers!

The program consists of:

- an optional information session on Wed. 3/15, at Cabot Hall in the AMC Headquarters at 4 Joy St in Boston.

- a required intro lecture on Wed. 3/29 at Cabot Hall

- four instructional weekends in the Blue Hills Reservation/Quincy Quarries.

The cost of the program is $170 for AMC members and $220 for non-members. A climbing harness or helmet can be borrowed at no cost (w/a deposit). Online registration opens after the 3/15 information session.

More details are over here:
amcbostonclimbers.com/rock-…

Also, after the program, there are a few organized trips to places like the Gunks and Acadia, which give the newly minted climbers some great first experiences putting all they've learned to use. Even an opportunity to have your first freak out when you can't pull that roof on pitch 2 at the Gunks (no that never happened to me)!

Russ Keane · · Salt Lake · Joined Feb 2013 · Points: 392

This is definitely a great program.