Mountain Project Logo

Acute Ulnar Nerve Injury

Original Post
Malcolm Malone · · Bozeman, MT · Joined Oct 2012 · Points: 0

Hey Guys,

Yesterday I hit my right "funny bone" and now there is numbness/tingling to my last digit and to the medial aspect of my 4th digit. I'm hoping the symptoms resolve on their own (I have been icing; NSAID's), but if they don't I was wondering what your experience was with this type of injury and how it affected your climbing. Bear in mind, I have had no chronic issues with my elbow before this happened as I have always been very diligent about balancing exercises.

It has been about 15 hours and the numbness/tingling hasn't resolved on its own. Let me know what you think! Any tips on helpful exercises/stretches would be much appreciated!

Grant Gerhard · · Verdi, NV · Joined Aug 2009 · Points: 135

Hey Maclom, I'm just a medical student, but sounds like a case of Neuropraxia, which is almost always self resolving. I always think of it like a concussion of a single nerve, rest and positioning your elbow in a position of comfort, start to resume light activities when asymptomatic and then progress as long as no symptoms ... I'd imagine you'd have full recovery much sooner than six weeks but from wiki "Neurapraxia is a disorder of the peripheral nervous system in which there is a temporary loss of motor and sensory function due to blockage of nerve conduction, usually lasting an average of six to eight weeks before full recovery"

Awesome. I appreciate the response, Grant! That makes me feel better. Hopefully it doesn't take 6-8 weeks to heal! Good luck w/ med-school.

Grant Kendrick 1 · · Northampton, Massachusetts · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 0