Mountain Project Logo

Yosemite half dome for the first time

Original Post
joe sakel · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2016 · Points: 45

I've been climbing for ~5 years around the RRG and Acadia Maine, but I have never been out west for big walls. I was wondering it it is crazy to do the snake dike in Yosemite as a warmup for the NW face half dome the next. Is that too much to fast, and how sandbagged is Yosemite compared to RRG. Also, I would be going out west alone, how hard is it to find partners to do big walls in Yosemite as well as Zion and Moab. In RRG we have Miguel's pizza where climbers can meet and find others, does Yosemite have anything like that?

thanks John, i had heard about camp 4 before. the RNWF would probably be two days with camping on big sandy.

csproul · · Pittsboro...sort of, NC · Joined Dec 2009 · Points: 330

I hope you don't really believe that SD is anywhere near a warm-up for the RNWFHD. Its barely a warm-up for the approach to the RNWF.

Fat Dad · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 60

^^^
This. Having done both, while they're great, one should not be considered adequate prep for the other. Just get on some classics: E Butt of Middle, the Cookie, the Cascades, Reed's Direct, etc. Get solid on Valley 5.9, and also practice some aid if you're going to aid the Zigzags. BTW, I climbed with a couple of guys I met in Camp 4 a couple weeks earlier. Lots of,people there with big plans but no partner.

Daniel Joder · · Barcelona, ES · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 0

Joseph, it seems as though some of the above replies assume you want to go up to do Snake Dike and NWF on the same outing. I hope that is not the case, for reasons as were also pointed out.
1) Snake Dike is a completely different beast from the NWF and not suitable big wall prep. It is a fun route and worth doing, but not as big wall prep.