Mountain Project Logo

Be my Guide in Yosemite

Original Post
Zach Christensen · · Baltimore, MD · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 375

I'm gonna be in Yosemite area for the first week of April and looking to climb a few of those days. Was hoping someone could climb with me for a day and I can give some $$$. I've been climbing for 1 year, mostly in a gym. I have never set Trad gear but I've cleaned some gear and watched others climb trad. I've also never done multipitch stuff but I'm down to try it all! I know there is a little sport there too. I onsite lead 5.10d in the gym so im thinking i could reasonably lead 5.7 in YNP....i think lol
I'm a musician from Baltimore and I'm easygoing, just trying to get a few more ticks
If interested please respond or email at ztchristensen@gmail.com

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Zach,

Guiding in a National Park is illegal if someone doesn't have the permits from the Park Service. When you offer money for climbing, that constitutes paying someone for "guiding." Consider offering meals, or expenses or something other than money for climbing.

Or, hire a real guide from Yosemite Mountaineering School:

travelyosemite.com/things-t…

Edit: Looks like John beat me to it!

Suburban Roadside · · Abovetraffic on Hudson · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 2,419

Coming from that back-ground, Safe Harbor ?,
The Valley is going to blow your mind.
Head to a climb called NUT CRACKER,
Have your harness on.
Shoes and belay gear, water - a layer or 2, and a nut poke.
Play it as it unfolds. If you have a rope, bring it and ask to climb along.

Erik Kloeker · · Campton · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 41

If you are looking for a professional guide, I highly recommend Mark Grundon.

Mike Byrnes · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 0

While all you lameos worried about laws are busy in the comments I'm sure his Pms are full of people willing to run him up snake dike for $20