Mountain Project Logo

Best mountaineering boots for 6000m peaks

Original Post
Jonathan Haws · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

I'm headed for Nepal and will be trekking to EBC and climbing Lobuche, so I'm in the market for some good boots. I've already got some good hiking boots and am looking for a good pair of mountaineering boots. I'm just getting into the sport, so could use some guidance.

I understand what everyone says about fit, single vs. double, weight, gaiters, etc. but what I can't get to the bottom of is how warm certain boots will keep my feet.

Basically, what I'm after is what boots have people used in the past in the same sort of climbs (6000m range)? Is something like the Scarpa Mont Blanc Pro GTX warm enough? Or even the Mammut Eisfeld? Or do I need to upgrade to a warmer boot? What about the Koflach Arctis Expe?

I'm based out of Northen Utah and the highest peak I typically hit on the weekends is 10k feet so I have experience with cold but not the kind of cold I'll see at twice that elevation. :)

I'm open to any and all advice that anyone has! Thanks!

Nick Sweeney · · Spokane, WA · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 969

Scarpa Phantom 6000 and La Sportiva G2SM would be worth a look.

jon bernhard · · Buena Vista, CO · Joined Apr 2008 · Points: 286

Boreal Super Latok.

Crazy warm. Fairly light. Extremely durable.

I have some US size 11 to sell ya.
Also, some womans US size 7.5

Adam Reke · · Boulder, CO · Joined May 2013 · Points: 10

+1 for Scarpa Phantom 6000 and La Sportiva G2SM would be worth a look.

wide feet = scarpa, skinny feet = sportiva

Brian in SLC · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Oct 2003 · Points: 21,746
Jonathan Haws wrote:I'm headed for Nepal and will be trekking to EBC and climbing Lobuche, so I'm in the market for some good boots.
A number of years ago...we hiked the 18k peaks in approach shoes. I'd hate the thought of wearing boots on those scrambles (Kala Pattar, Gokyo Ri).