Mountain Project Logo

Building a cheap setup for practicing placements

Original Post
John Ryter · · Golden, CO · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 5

I'm thinking of building a small (a couple feet by a couple feet) setup to practice setting trad gear so I can size up placements more efficiently and get a better feel for what works best and where. As a beginner, I understand that the best way to do so is to follow good leaders, practice setting from the ground, practice on easier terrain, and so on, but it's winter and I think it could be a fun and convenient project.

My current thought is to build a wooden frame containing a variety of other wood pieces, with spaces between working as parallel or tapering "cracks" and maybe drilling some pockets/holes as well, but I'm definitely open to other options and would love to hear other ideas, suggestions, or potential risks.

If there's already a thread similar to this one I haven't found it but would be glad to follow a link.

Andrew Poet · · Central AZ · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 161

Placing pro from the ground on local crack climbs would probably give you a better idea of "real" placements. You can even bounce test them safely.

JohnnyG · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 10

I hear you. I remember getting my 2nd cam for christmas and trying to place it in a stone wall.

I think your time would be better spent going to the nearest piece of real rock and messing around with your gear. Bring a sling or two and try standing on the gear you place to see how it holds.

Kevin Mokracek · · Burbank · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 342