Mountain Project Logo

Training for climbing 3rd edition

Original Post
j Leend · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2011 · Points: 31

Anybody using Horsts Training for Climbing 3rd edition? Been thinking about trying it out. Opinions?

Eric Carlos · · Soddy Daisy, TN · Joined Aug 2008 · Points: 121

Use the Rock Climber's Training Manuel.

Nicholas Gillman · · Las Vegas · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 327

I'm pretty new to having a more structured training regiment (rather just climbing at the gym till I'm tired) and it's my first book on the topic. That being said I do really like it so far. The way it builds I feel like you need to read the entire thing before applying it . I tired to do my own thing and just graft in lessons from the book as they came and it felt really clunky and now that I've finished it ( just a few days ago) I've gone back and sorta hit the reset button and am now trying to approach it as a whole. It is a little pricy at $40 but the information is pretty stellar imo.

kenr · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 16,608

The Horst book has the most good helpful training ideas in one place.
I've found that as I tried stuff and did more research that I came to disagree with some of the ideas, so now I also think it has the largest count of less-helpful (or even unhelpful) ideas.
. . (but the currently-popular RCTM book also contains some less-helpful ideas which I avoid).

Also so many helpful ideas that I'd need 48 hours a day to do all the drills.

So you'll be forced to think for yourself and choose (which I liked).

Also this book is a good solution to the problem of Boredom in training, since you can just re-check the relevant chapter in the book and switch to one of its other ideas.