Mountain Project Logo

To SLC or not to SLC?????

Original Post
Outdrgear · · Boulder, CO · Joined Feb 2011 · Points: 230

Hello All,

Not to beat a dead horse or anything (I know there have been many forum chains about this), but I am going to pose the question one more time. Should my wife and I move to SLC????

Backstory: My wife and I are in our earlyish 30s and are avid climbers first and foremost, and fill the rest of our time with road biking, skiing, and trail running. We lived in Boulder from 2011-2015, then moved to the Virginia after getting married to be closer to my family last year, then remembered how terrible it is here and have decided to move back out west. We would love to go back to Boulder because we have many friends there and lots of work option for myself (I work in the outdoor industry), but the Google and the tech industry has kind of F*CKED the housing market up for all us not rich outdoorsy types. We just don't know if we can stand to pay $350-$400K for a cracker box in Westminster. I also feel like the secret is out on how cool Colorado is and it feels crowded. I-70 on the weekend is practically a no go anymore and I heard they are going to put parking meters and 2 hour parking limits in Boulder Canyon (at least it feel like I'm trying to park at a shopping mall on black Friday now a days.)