Mountain Project Logo

Arm positioning for roof and overhangs.

Original Post
Raymond Moreno · · Roseville, CA · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 140

Hey, folks, I have a question for some of you more advanced boulderers.

I've been climbing since March of 2016. I'm pretty short (5' 4"; huge) and am pretty comfortable on V3's and V4's.

Because of my height/reach disadvantage, AND INEXPERIENCE, some of the longer reaches shut me down on a route. But I usually just ";cheat"; past the unreacheable spot, and usually complete the route.

Anyhoo...back to the question.

Because of my height, certain ";reachy"; routes are NOT to my advantage. But other routes really play to my strengths. Of the latter are overhang and roof routes. (Bouldering and lead climbing).

I am currently working on a long V5 roof traverse, and I have almost completed it. But my climbing pardner tells me I usually climb with a slight, or even strongly, bent elbows.

Which brings-up my question.

How should folks hang from their arms on long roof traverses?

Some folks say that you should NOT hang on your skeleton (with straight arms), as this can set you up for shoulder injuries, and it also instills bad posture. Hangboard instructions also warn NOT to hang off your skeleton for the same latter reasons.

The consensus of the latter camps say a ";slight bend"; in the elbows, with good posture, is key.

But some folks say that straight arms is the way to go. They say it takes less energy/effort, and installs proper toe and hip positioning.

Just curious. What do y'all think about this topic?

In Christ: Raymond

Acmesalute76 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 71
blackdiamondequipment.com/e…

Bending your elbows will use more energy and has nothing to do with shoulder posture.

I'm 6'1"; so I have all the opposite problems...

Also, you just started in March and are climbing V5? That's insane if it's outdoors.
Baba Fats · · Philadelphia, PA · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0