Mountain Project Logo

16/17 California ice conditions

Original Post
tahoe tom · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2013 · Points: 30

Hey everyone, has anyone been out on the ice this year? What's in? I just came back from Lundy canyon, ice was good, Donner summit headway is looking climbable.

Lundy canyon December 4th 2016

Cory B · · Fresno, CA · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 2,577
Kristie Miles · · Bishop, CA · Joined Aug 2013 · Points: 30

hey there! I'm fairly new to the Bay area from Boston, and looking for ice climbing partners AND any info around ice in the Tahoe area. If anyone has beta they're willing to share or is looking for a partner with 3 years of ice experience (lead WI3, and follows 4+) holler at me!

kristie.miles@gmail.com

Trevor Burke · · SF Bay Area · Joined Dec 2012 · Points: 5
Kristie Miles wrote:hey there! I'm fairly new to the Bay area from Boston, and looking for ice climbing partners AND any info around ice in the Tahoe area. If anyone has beta they're willing to share or is looking for a partner with 3 years of ice experience (lead WI3, and follows 4+) holler at me! kristie.miles@gmail.com
Hi Kristie,

I'm looking for ice partners! But sadly I get all my beta from MP or Facebook. I've been wanting to check out Lee Vining Canyon. I learned to climb ice in Vermont and New Hampshire and have led many 3s and a few 4s. Really psyched to get out this season.

Feel free to PM me if you want to swing some tools together!
Tomko · · SANTA CLARA CA · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 20

Kristie/Trevor,

I'm also interesting in getting more into some ice this year, especially in the Tahoe area. I've got a couple days of ice under my belt, so no leading yet, but I'm good for beer or driving in exchange for getting a little more experience.

Shoot me a message if you're looking to get out and need someone for ice!

Andrew

Greg Carlisle · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2010 · Points: 5