Mountain Project Logo

Stone Mountain Lead Clmbing Help/Partner For Son And I

Original Post
Dustin Aycoth · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0

I am planning on going up there over the Christmas break when I have him sometime on December 21st, 22nd or 23rd. I have never done lead climbing outdoors and would love to have someone share this adventure with us who is familiar with lead climbing outdoors and perhaps also familiar with Stone Mountain. Of course, I am not planning on going 200 feet off the ground (I know it is not straight up and down) and I am certainly not planning on having him go way up the slab. However, we are looking to get an introduction to lead climbing and would love to do so at Stone.

I've been climbing off and one for about 17 years and have gotten back into full time exactly a year ago this month. We have done numerous trips to four climbing places between here (Fort Bragg area) and the Raleigh/Morrisville area. We have climbed at Pilot Mountain four times and loved it.

And our next adventure will be some lead climbing.

I can be reached easily at dustinaycoth@gmail.com

And I have a Facebook account so you can see that I am not a made up person :)

Any help that day would be appreciated! We are always looking to learn more from other climbers who have more knowledge and experience.

Dustin L. Aycoth

Matt Carroll · · Van · Joined Dec 2013 · Points: 249

I think you folks would be best served by a guide!

-ensured that they are safe and follow best practices
-maximize your time as they know the area very well
-teach with the most clarity as they do it for a living

Obviously this requires shelling out some scratch, and that can be unappealing for some, but I think based on your situation it would be a really good avenue to take.