Mountain Project Logo

Mount Rainier 2017

Original Post
aero8991 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0

hey all,

I'm going to be moving out West to the Seattle area this spring and am looking into getting into some mountaineering. I'd like to climb Mount Baker and Mount Rainier this summer. Would anyone be interested in joining me on the expeditions ?

Thanks!

Dan

Dave Leydet · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Nov 2011 · Points: 161

Dan - you might want to check out cascadeclimbers.com/ as well! Cheers!

Thanks Dave! I will.

HughTom · · Seattle, WA · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0

Hey, I'd be interested in joining. I'm relatively new to Seattle and do not have much experience alpine climbing. However, I have experience outdoor sport climbing and am willing to put the time in to learn.

Tom

Dan Cooksey · · Pink Ford Thunderbird · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 365

If you guys are just getting into it you can do non-technical, but super fun routes on Adams and Baker by just buying an ice axe, micro spikes, (maybe crampons depending on conditions for baker, not adams) and watching a youtube video on sliding on your ass and self arrest.

Then if you enjoy the misery and want more, seek some training and or meet some people who know whats up. Try to get into the Seattle mountaineers.

Best of luck.

Right on Dan Cooksey, Adams and Baker are a must! This will be my second attempt on Rainer. I'd like to climb the standard DC route. I have experience with self arrest and some crevice training. I'm from new England and have lead multiple winter summits on Mt. Washington. I'm also WFR certified and am avy 1.

Hughtom- awesome! Its definitely worth the time and $$. Sounds like we should check out Adams and baker as well.

Benjamin August · · Salt Lake City · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0