Mountain Project Logo

New Avalanche Explosives Work Backcountry Closure Procedures Going Into Effect

Original Post
Allen Sanderson · · On the road to perdition · Joined Jul 2007 · Points: 1,203

Feel free to discuss the New Avalanche Explosives Work Backcountry Closure Procedures Going Into Effect for LCC and BCC:

utahavalanchecenter.org/blo…

SLCA is aware of the procedures and are, as well as others working with the Forecast Center and UDOT to modify them as there are several parts that are clearly not going to work.

grog m · · Saltlakecity · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 70

I am new to touring and SLC. What are the consequences of this?

Boissal . · · Small Lake, UT · Joined Aug 2006 · Points: 1,541
Rob T wrote:It'll be interesting to see the unintended consequences as these crowds shift to BCC. I'm guessing parking at the Spruces and Donut will often fill up before 6 this year.
It's already impossible to park at Buttler Fork past 5:30AM on a powder day... Those Short Swing laps sure are popular.

An 8:30AM opening time is clearly pushing the definition of dawn patrol, this is going to affect a lot more people than the early-morning crowd. I imagine the number of days when the LCC line starts at the 6200S exit is going to go up astronomically.

But hey, as the UDOT post states, shit could be even worse - and probably will be at some point in the not so distant future:

UDOT wrote:If this revised plan does not work, more restrictive closures may be needed.
Guess that's what you get when WW2 artillery is used for avi control.
BrokenChairs 88 · · Denver, CO · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 240