Mountain Project Logo

Organizing gear

Original Post
M Kilts · · Ogden, UT · Joined Feb 2016 · Points: 45

I am in my first year of climbing and just acquiring the basics from skill to gear.

Just curious about how others like to keep their gear organized both in and outside of your packs? I have seem some keep most of their equipment on a sling. It seems pretty common. Any tips/advice for keeping an organized pack?

Muscrat · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2011 · Points: 3,625

JUst throw it all in a pile and hope for the best!
HA, just half kidding.
I sort as follows, each on its own keeper biner:
.1-.75"
1-3"
ballnuts
I split my nuts into 1-5 and 6-11, each subset on a keylock, both subsets on a keeper
5 draws per set
5 alpine draws per set
5 lockers
5 free bines
offset cams
offset nuts
brassies and Rp's
big bro's
hooks, copperheads, etc on a sling.
Bolt kit in its own bag WITH A CHECKLIST (nothing like no having a hammer when you are out route developing!)
Attached to my harness is my regular kit; ATC, GriGri, #10 hex (YES!) prussic (always always keep a prussic on your harness) 3 lockers.

Ted Pinson · · Chicago, IL · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 252

Think he means sport gear based on the forum...

If by ";gear"; you mean quickdraws, then yeah...a sling is great. Don't go nuts and buy a gear sling, just get a cheap shoulder length sewn nylon. I prefer nylon because I like to hang the sling around my neck when I'm racking, and dyneema is less comfortable because of the thinner diameter. Nylon is also cheaper. I also like to shove the whole thing in a stuff sack to keep everything from getting mangled in the pack.

Ted Pinson wrote: I also like to shove the whole thing in a stuff sack to keep everything from getting mangled in the pack.
haha and yeah sport equipment, I have not yet done any other climbing.
That had not yet occurred to me, thanks! same bag with loose carabiners, tethers, repel/belay?

may seem like obvious question but i appreciate the responses!