Mountain Project Logo

Eldorado nightmare (huge crowds today)

Original Post
John RB · · Boulder, CO · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 159

I thought I'd climb solo today in Eldo. What an idiotic idea.

Arrived at 11am and the park was full so everyone was getting turned back at the entrance station. Eldorado Springs was full of illegally parked cars and the tow trucks were reportedly en route. The ranger told me to park on the asphalt east of town, so I did and then did the 1/2 mile walk back to the entrance station. 9 mins...not too bad.

Most people were just giving up and going elsewhere. I had no idea, but it was GET IN FOR FREE day today, which was a big part of the problem.

Went to warm up on The Bomb. There was a top-rope on it and a family of 6 taking turns. So I figured I'd go do Wind Ridge, but a party of three was just starting and they said they'd be slow. So I figured I would just do Breezy.

But I'm working on a major lawsuit right now (I'm a professor at CU who works as an expert witness) and a lawyer called, "We need you to look at this document in the next 60 minutes!"

So I ran down the trail, out of the park and out to the car, then drove to Hwy 93 where cell reception was good enough that I could download 2 PDFs to read. Finished that, back to the parking place, hiked back to Eldo, back up to Wind Ridge and... the same party of three was barely off the ground. A party behind them had cut over to Breezy, so that was taken too. It was 3pm now and Wind Tower was going into the shade. The Bastille had been empty all day, but it's the routes there are too hard for me to solo. I hiked over to Whale's Tail to look at the two easy climbs there... both taken.

Reluctantly I just packed up and hiked out, getting absolutely zero climbing in for the day.

Greg D · · Here · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 883

And the surprise was???

Cory B · · Fresno, CA · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 2,577

You are part the crowd that other people were complaining about as well.