Mountain Project Logo

Top Roping In NC

Original Post
Shane Dalton · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 0

Hey, my girlfriend and I have been climbing in the gym for a couple months now. We're looking for a spot in NC, GA, or AL with routes that you can top rope. Any suggestions?

Gumby King · · The Gym · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 52

Pilot Mountain, NC is top rope accessible. Make sure you bring a lot of cordalette, slings, and lockers to building anchor.

Andy Thorsell · · Marion, NC · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 523

If you are new to outside and setting up anchors I would suggest checking out Rocky Face. It has a really high concentration of routes with easy walk up access to the anchors and you park literally next to the climbing wall. Of course depending on where you are at in NC there might be better spots closer to your location.

Kereinha · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2013 · Points: 10

In NC, Pilot is hard to beat for top rope options. I'm personally not a fan of Rocky Face...despite the ease of access.

Tim Lau · · Hendersonville, NC · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 20

Crowder's Mountain, west of Charlotte, is also very top rope friendly.

Anonymous · · Unknown Hometown · Joined unknown · Points: 0
Cory F wrote:Pilot Mountain, NC is top rope accessible. Make sure you bring a lot of cordalette, slings, and lockers to building anchor.
You don't need any of that. All you need is 2 quick draws and your good on anything a beginner is likely going to climb.
Dave Baker · · Wiltshire · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 303
ViperScale wrote: You don't need any of that. All you need is 2 quick draws and your good on anything a beginner is likely going to climb.