Mountain Project Logo

Bowline Variants

Original Post
Sam Stephens · · PORTLAND, OR · Joined Jan 2010 · Points: 1,090

First off, if you want to talk about accidents attributed to knots coming undone or how much better you think an eight is, don't. The only thing I want to discuss is bowline variants. There are enough threads on those topics, but there are plenty of us who use a bowline to warrant it's discussion.

I've used what we call a paranoid bowline for a while now. Love it, except that it takes up two strands of rope at the tie in points.

Recently I started playing with the EBSB (end bound single bowline), and while it's secure I don't like the cleanliness of it. Info on it in here: igkt.net/sm/index.php?topic…

I took the EBSB and started with a double bowline for the initial bowline, and finished per the EBSB and this is what it looks like. I'm a fan. Does anyone else use this knot?

mcarizona · · Flag · Joined Feb 2007 · Points: 180

Why not just use the seatbelt?

Instructions for the EBSB can be found in the link. I can do something for the others this evening on my way to the new.

Guy H. · · Fort Collins CO · Joined Jan 2001 · Points: 8,318

www.paci.com.au/downloads_public/knots/Bowlines_Analysis.pdf

20 kN · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 1,346

This has been covered, over and over again. Here are some of the more popular variants:

mountainproject.com/v/incid…

20 kN wrote:This has been covered, over and over again. Here are some of the more popular variants: mountainproject.com/v/incid…
You're correct, I forgot it had been covered so recently. I apologize. Delete this if you want
keithconn · · LI, NY · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 35

Don't delete!

The pics of you in your car tying knots are precious!

eli poss · · Durango, CO · Joined May 2014 · Points: 525

This is what I use to tie-in:

It's simple, secure, and easy/quick to tie. What more do you want?