Mountain Project Logo

Engineering Jobs In the Climbing Industry

Original Post
Mike Slavens · · Houston, TX · Joined Jan 2009 · Points: 35

Any advice or tips on finding and landing an engineering job (specifically mechanical engineering) in the climbing and/or outdoor industry?

I've surfed the usual sites of LinkedIn and outdoorindustryjobs.com with no luck, and very few climbing gear manufactures even have a section on there website for job openings much less a posting for engineering work.

I am an experienced engineer with a PE License but not really thrilled with staying in my industry for the next 20+ years of my career. My experience is not specifically in product design or manufacturing but I have worked with that segment. I worked with CAD/CAM/FEA software in college but pretty much haven't touched it since then.

Is 10+ years CAD and/or FEA, or manufacturing/testing experience a must have?
Where do you look for job openings?
Any body looking for the most highly motivated and willing to learn engineer, that also climbs, that you have ever met?

Chris Johnson · · Boulder, CO · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 15

I've also been browsing outdoor gear career pages and vaguely remember seeing some engineer positions for Black Diamond, if you're near or willing to move to SLC. Other than that, outdoorindustryjobs.com or outdoorindustry.org have good job boards.

P Coolwhips · · dirt roads · Joined May 2013 · Points: 210

There is room in the industry for more companies.

Charlie S · · NV · Joined Aug 2007 · Points: 2,391

13 years CAD (10 of it 3D) and 6 years FEM and aerospace experience here. For that kind of work, it tends to be few and far between, though they occasionally pop up. Your best bet is likely Black Diamond when there's an opening. You can contact Rock Exotica directly and they may interview you.

Petzl does all their engineering in France.