Mountain Project Logo

PhD Student Looking for Climbers to Participate in a Short Survey (feel free to pass along, too!)

Original Post
Megan Nelson · · Moscow, ID · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 0

Hello Fellow Climbers,

I am a PhD student at the University of Idaho study Exercise Physiology conducting a research project for a class about reasons why climbers enjoy their sport, as well as psychological attributes related to climbers. I love climbing because of the physical and mental aspects of the sport and I'm really interested in doing some research on this topic!

Our survey only takes about 10 minutes to complete, and we greatly appreciate any and all responses!

The link to the survey can be copy and pasted into your browser, or you can just click the link too!

uidaho.co1.qualtrics.com/SE…

Thank you SO much! It really means a lot!
Megan Nelson

Anonymous · · Unknown Hometown · Joined unknown · Points: 0

Climbers don't like to climb we just like to torture ourselves.

Em Cos · · Boulder, CO · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 5

I took the survey, good luck with your research! One motivation for climbing I found conspicuously absent from your survey: fun. I climb primarily because it is fun.

mike again · · Ouray · Joined Dec 2015 · Points: 47

Go Vandals!

The "other" field forces a number, but asks for a type of climbing.

Let us know what your results are...

Andrew Reed · · CaƱon City, CO · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 56

Other types of climbing should include traditional multi pitch, aid, big wall.

Parker Wrozek · · Denver, CO · Joined Mar 2012 · Points: 86

There you go.

The hardest I have top roped made me think since I almost never TR but it is an easier grade than I have led, which is kind of strange.

Todd F · · McMurdo Station, AQ · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 0

done and shared with PhD climber friends

See PM

Scott O · · Anchorage · Joined Mar 2010 · Points: 70

Thank you for using real research software.