Mountain Project Logo

Hey all you climbing geologists out there!

Original Post
Andrew David Bennett · · USA · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 0

I am currently a senior at University of Washington studying geology and I'll be graduating in Decemeber. I am a 24 year old and I'm finishing this degree after a prolonged climbing stint. I know there are quite a few people working in the field who are climbers and wanted to hear what it was like searching for and getting a job. Any leads would be greatly appreciated!

Todd Anderson · · Santa Fe, NM · Joined Jun 2011 · Points: 160

I guess I'll bump this. I am a second-year graduate student in the Earth and Space Sciences department at UW, but I did physics undergrad and am more on the space side of things here. I have a few friends who did geology undergrad degrees and got survey work for either USGS or energy companies, but most of them are looking at grad school now. If you want to do research, you'll certainly need more than a bachelor's at some point.

A PhD program can be a pretty good gig for outdoor pursuits. It's a lot of work sometimes (/often), but you can often work a flexible schedule and occasionally get outside during the week. During the summers or other times when you're not taking or teaching classes, you can usually figure out how to take extra time off for climbing trips if you're good about getting work done when you're in the office. A Master's program is likely to involve a lot more class, so it might be less flexible.

Another option to think about is teaching at the high school or middle school (or whatever) level, or as a lecturer (non-tenured) at the university level. Depending on your course load it could be a lot of work during the week, but if you're careful you can get out every weekend and you have the whole summer for climbing trips. You can teach at a private school without a teaching license (i.e. Master's in Education), but you will be paid more with a Master's.