Mountain Project Logo

Best PNW/Seattle area climbing in late November?

Original Post
erin demarco · · Boulder, CO · Joined Nov 2012 · Points: 101

I'm flying to Seattle for Thanksgiving – Wed. Nov. 30. Looking for recommendations on areas, and routes. I will not be flying out with any trad gear, but would very happy to partner up with someone who does have it and is psyched. Also happy to clip bolts.

I'm looking for a great all-day route in a nice setting, or an area with good, long single-pitch options.... I'll have access to a vehicle.

I'm a beginner trad leader traveling from Boulder, CO. Lead sport up to about mid 5.11. Er, at least, I can get to the top if the crux(es) aren't too bouldery/powerful.

My initial thought is Index, but hope people will chime in with more specifics. Stoked to visit your area!

Thanks!

Dan Cooksey · · Pink Ford Thunderbird · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 365

Check out Vantage (Frenchman's Coulee) 2 hours east of Seattle on 90. In November it is very probable that it will be wet.

But Vantage is usually dry and climbable all winter.

Hundreds of single pitch sport and some mixed in single pitch trad.

Dan Cooksey · · Pink Ford Thunderbird · Joined Jan 2014 · Points: 365

Oh and sometimes Leavenworth is really nice in November.

More multi-pitch trad and bouldering though.

Ashort · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 56

Best is setac airport, board flight to vegas or moab.

JCM · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2008 · Points: 115

Your options will be very limited.