Mountain Project Logo

Best entry level/cheap GoPro...

Original Post
Ted Pinson · · Chicago, IL · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 252

Hey everyone,

So, I've decided to be one of "those guys" who sticks a camera on his helmet and starts recording stuff, lol. In all seriousness, though, I'm in the market for a GoPro for "adventure" photography but trying to narrow down which exact model. I thought about hitching onto Ivy's general use camera thread but realized my needs were more specific. I climb (obviously), bike, ski, and also dive, and the waterproof capabilities of the pros were what cinched the deal for me, as I've always wanted to take diving pictures.

I am not a professional photographer and don't need the kinds of features/performance on a Hero 4 Black or Silver (plus they are way out of my price range), so I'm looking at either a Hero+ HD/LCD or an older model. I considered the Session because it seems to have the highest video quality out of all of the entry levels, but it's only waterproof to 30', which makes it potentially dicey for diving. :( How important/useful is the built in LCD? I know that it will obviously be useless if you're mounting the camera, but it seems like it would make it better for taking regular photographs.

So, which model would you guys recommend in the $100-300 range? My priorities are:

1) Waterproof (has to be to at least 30M)
2) Price
3) Video quality

Brendan N · · Salt Lake City, Utah · Joined Oct 2006 · Points: 405

If you want the GoPro form factor you can get a clone for much cheaper with the same/better specs. Look on Amazon.
Sony makes a better action cam in the $100 range.

Hmm..cool. I figured that would happen eventually.

Crispy. · · Chicago · Joined May 2014 · Points: 70