Mountain Project Logo

Noob Anchor Question

Original Post
t.farrell · · New York, NY · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 60

I am pretty new to climbing and my only anchor experience comes from what I've read in books. I'm wondering if this anchor would be a viable option for a three piece anchor. It's basically an equalette with bunny ears instead of the overhand stoppers. Not sure if this is already in use. As I said, my only experience comes from books which mostly stick to sliding x, cordalette, and equalette.

Maybe I'm just building my equalettes incorrectly, but when I was practicing with them, it seemed that if one piece of pro blew, then most of the times the load would be transferred to just one piece of pro. This double bunny ear anchor was my attempt to have the load transferred to two equalized pieces instead of one with a backup.

First equalize left and middle piece (with one loop from each side of the master point), then the middle and left. Once everything is clipped adjust until the load's equalized by the outer two pieces. If one piece blows, then the load transfers to the other two pieces. I've set up my anchor pieces in a few different configurations and so far it seems to work for most of them.

So yeah, is this a good option or is there something I'm missing? Or does it exist already and I just haven't heard of it?

Anchor?

Ryan Nevius · · Perchtoldsdorf, AT · Joined Dec 2010 · Points: 1,837

It's a perfectly fine option...but in the real world, a standard 3-piece anchor with the cordelette tied to a masterpoint is arguably a better option.

Abram Herman · · Grand Junction, CO · Joined May 2009 · Points: 20