Mountain Project Logo

Ultralight Master Cam

Original Post
Owen Witesman · · Springville, UT · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 111

Anyone with experience with the Metolius ultralight master cam out there who could give me a quick thumbs up or down on them? I've been using C4s and X4s exclusively for a couple of years, so the smaller range of the MUMCs is a turnoff, but otherwise they seem pretty sweet for the price and weight. And beyond the general "should I bother" is there a particular number range where they excel in a rack mixed with BD? It seems like some people like the 00-4 MC matched with 0.5-4 C4. Thanks.

ChrisN · · Morro Bay, CA · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 25

I have the orange... I picked it up as a double, it kind of fits between my 0.5 and 0.4 BD cams.

I like it, I seem to find a placement for it on most climbs.

Systematic · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 317

I like them. They are very well made and I like the changes. I think they do shine in the smaller sizes you mentioned. If you're expecting lots of horizontal placements there are more suitable options.

Arin F · · Las Vegas · Joined Oct 2011 · Points: 64

Love them. No problems with them so far. I have a set of BD cams to include x4 and would rather rack the Metolius. Although, I have to say, it's tough, if not impossible, for me to not rack my totems with my metolius.

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 5

I have sizes 5-7 and they are awesome. The old 7's were a little floppy, but they are great now with a thicker/stiffer cable and nice and light weight. I just noticed that Backcountry.com has them on sale for $51. I might go buy the #8.

DWF 3 · · Boulder, CO · Joined Nov 2012 · Points: 186

I'll be the outlier and and say that I don't prefer them over x4s. It's a little finicky to get the thumb oriented right with the floppy webbing. I feel like I can tell a difference in the lack of range as well. Other than that they are well made just not my favorite.