Mountain Project Logo

Best 10+/11- Trad Routes on the Front Range

Original Post
Mary Stella · · Rapid City, SD · Joined Oct 2012 · Points: 30

Hey MP!

I'll be back on the Front Range this summer & am looking to expand my horizons. What are your fave 10+/11- routes on the Front Range? I would like to avoid scary run-outs (though if they're on easier terrain, that's a'ight), as I'm kinda new to this grade.

Thanks dudes.

khalifornia · · Colorado · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 0

So many... But one I did recently that has stuck with me is Kloof in Eldo. Memorable climb with good pump factor and clean falls.

grog m · · Saltlakecity · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 70

People obsess over grades too much. Why does it specifically need to be that grade? 10+/11-? Super open to interpretation. Most people chase grades just to tell people theyve climbed 11 trad or whatever. Get over it you know?

Pick an aesthetic feature and get psyched on that. Pick an amazing partner and get stoked with them. Those are better and more lasting accomplishments.

Okay off my soap box. Go to mountain projects front page.
Scroll down to the map of the US area.
Select Colorado.
Scroll down to the "Classic Climbing Routes in Colorado"
Select "Browse More Rock Climbing Classics in Colorado"
Change the sort menu to trad.
Theres the consensus with no forum arguments.

Short cut, here mountainproject.com/scripts…

You can filter this to more specific areas other than just Colorado.

VRP · · Morrison, CO · Joined Jul 2013 · Points: 45

Eldo:
Vertigo
Parallels
Center Route

Parallels has a potential long, but safe fall through the crux.

Tombo · · Boulder · Joined Feb 2006 · Points: 410

In Eldorado:

C'est La Vie
Vertigo
Grand Course
Grand Mothers Challenge
Suparete
Disappearing Act
Genesis (1st pitch)

Lumpy Ridge:

Fat City
Howling in the Wind

RMNP:

Days of Heaven

Boulder Canyon:

Left Wing
What's Up
Athlete's Feat