Mountain Project Logo

Kinda stupid tag line procedure question

Original Post
matt c. · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 155

I have been climbing on double for multi-pitch a few years and am thinking about starting to use the single/tagline combo instead for rappelling. I played with it a little last week at red rocks and it was a super pain in the ass. I think I need to work on my procedure.

How do you use your tag line? For this discussion lets assume everything is at the climbers limit but will not use the tag line to pull up extra gear in mid route nor hall.

1. Does the leader drag it?
1a. If so attached to the follower or just left hanging?
1b. If attached to follower, do you pull the rope up at the same time as the lead, like you do with doubles or one rope at a time?

2. Does follower could drag it?
2a. How does follow if from hanging belay to hanging belay?
2b. Have you ever been in a situation where the the second is trailing the tag line and it gets caught up.( I am worried about this because red rocks seems like snag central)

Thanks!

Josh Janes · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2001 · Points: 9,999

1. Yes.
1a. Left hanging.

2. No. It will get tangled around something, fall off a ledge, or get in the way of other parties.
2a. See above.
2b. Yes. I've seen it several times. One time I even tied off the end of a tag line belonging to the party above me (forcing them to rappel) so my team could then pass. *winky winky*

Unsolicited suggestions:

As an alternative: If the leader doesn't want to drag the tag like he/she should (perhaps the pitch is very difficult?), the follower can backpack it and carry it that way. This is the best way to go on easy ground, but if you find yourself needing to do quick hauls or the terrain is very difficult for both you and your partner, the leader trailing it is the way.