Mountain Project Logo

Recoverable anchor kit (for rappelling)

Original Post
Brian L. · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2016 · Points: 90

Hello everyone.

First let me say I am somewhat new to climbing. I've gym climbed/bouldered off and on for the last ten years, but just last year started following trad with some older, experienced friends, and had my first sport lead just a few weeks ago.

I'm also a mechanical engineer by trade.

As a backpacker I'm also very keen on LNT if it's possible.

I've been doing a lot of reading about anchor building, and came across some information about recoverable anchors (mostly from canyoneer sites). The method that mot intrigues me, and seems the least risky is using a strap system similar to a cambium saver arborists use.

If you're not familiar with this here's basically what it is: webbing either tied in a loop, or with two loops ties in the ends, with two rap rings or quick links. The saver is wrapped around a tree so it makes a complete loop when the two rings are held together. you pass the rope through both rings, and rappel as normal.

What makes the system recoverable is you attach a tag line to the anchor webbing, so once you pull the rope the anchor can be pulled down behind you. Caution: be aware of the falling metal rings/links.

Here's a good how to: backpacker.com/view/photos/… although I wouldn't attach the pull cord directly to the link, just to make sure it doesn't interfere with pulling the rope.

Anyway, that all seems pretty well established as OK. My question is in terms of the tag line used. Typically I see people saying to use rather large cord for the tag line (5-7mm). Which to me seems bulky and heavy, especially if carried only for this purpose.