Mountain Project Logo

new climbs in pa

Original Post
Db5504 · · Shippensburg, PA · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 951

Anybody know of new/undeveloped climbing areas in Pennsylvania?

Suburban Roadside · · Abovetraffic on Hudson · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 2,419

Yes,I'm not sayin'
Ask Bob

JRZane · · Jersey · Joined Dec 2015 · Points: 95

Who's Bob?

I'd be willing to show one to get one. Friends and I have been developing a spot a touch north of Philly for a few years now. ~60' high and a dozen or so routes wide.

I've been mostly looking in Western PA, but out in the East I've been searching for quartzite cragging on the ridges.

Michael Schneider wrote: Ask Bob
Could you maybe direct in the way of Bob?
Cor · · Sandbagging since 1989 · Joined Mar 2006 · Points: 1,445

If you onsight my OW problem, Astroboy @ Gretna I can put you in touch with people.. ;)

Bouldering? Meh.

I know.. Offwidths, meh!

But one thing is for sure, PA has probably
way better bouldering compared to cragging.

Actually that off width had me interested for sure.

Believe me, with Ralph Stover as my home crag there's no love lost between me and PA craggin. Gunks are three hours tho, making weekend jaunts very manageable.

Db5504( that's a cryptic avatar,)
I'm sorry to be equally cryptic.
There once were a bunch of Boyz who refused to grow up.
Most from the hills of Pennsi. & Jersey.
and we all had a certain friend/ hero
Kevin Bein,
He inspired us all, in many ways,
Mainly, to get as strong as you could.
Then when you could get to The Gunks, to show off
he would laugh, and still climb circles around us,
Telling us " you can do better."
One of us stood out, (4 or 5 really though and it doesn't fit or matter )
and he was cut from that same cloth, as the hero
right down to the restaurant bizz being in his blood
so he Progressed, to legendary status,

Bob is still active , had a hart attack while climbing.
Is back to nearly top from,