Mountain Project Logo

Looking for a copy of Micheal Steele guide to the Delaware water gap

Original Post
Doug Wolfe · · NJ · Joined Jun 2012 · Points: 120

anyone got one laying around collecting dust??

keithconn · · LI, NY · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 35

Forgive my ignorance ... How is the water gap? Getting back into the sport now that the kids Are growing up and looking for places to go. I have little experience on the east coast so any info would be of great value. I live on Long Island and already have spring trips planned to the Powerlinez and the Gunks with an August trip to Acadia.
Thanks in advance!
Keith

Full of vegetation and super loose

Larry S · · Easton, PA · Joined May 2010 · Points: 872

Keith - The PA side gets closed from January thru June/July for falcon nesting, so it gets very overgrown. Jersey side stays open. Both sides have a handful of routes which see regular traffic and are generally clean, but outside of those, expect foliage and some loose rock. Surprise and The Rib are the two most popular and will see an ascent most weekends with good weather.

IMO, PA has the easier approach - no fighting for parking and walking just off the highway. It also has much less highway noise.

For where you say you're coming from, there are probably better places to go.

Mark E Dixon · · Possunt, nec posse videntur · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 974

I could part with my copy of the '89 version. Feel free to make me an offer.

Gunks is way better haha
The gap is an adventure

Tom Grebis · · Hatfield, PA · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 0

Doug,

I have 2 copies for some reason. You can have one. Shoot me an address and I will mail it out.

Am I correct in that there are no Sport or Top-rope routes?

Nice thanks Tom! Email sent..
Top roping would be a pain..
Running from bears would be a fun sport.
The pa side might have some bolts haven't explored much on that side. Nj side doesn't

Insert name · · Harts Location · Joined Dec 2011 · Points: 46