Mountain Project Logo

Told you can't climb because of a photo shoot? How do you respond?

mcarizona · · Flag · Joined Feb 2007 · Points: 180

I'll use a more accurate type writer next time.

ShireSmitty · · WP · Joined Jan 2013 · Points: 70

Once upon a time, on my 1 day off from my 6 day workweek, a friend and I went to the Solar Cave outside of Santa Fe to send a project we'd been working on. A film crew working on the remake of 3:10 to Yuma with Russell Crowe was there. No posting about filming or crag closures was up, but one of the heads of the crew gave us bigtime attitude and asked us to leave. We tried to take the high road and be tactful but it didn't work, and was met in return by ignorance, arrogance, and entitlement. Being Irish and raised in New England, I am not at all above giving somebody who is acting like a jackass a dose of their own medicine. I offered to leave, in return for a check for 3 days' wages. I'm a Custom Finish Carpenter and I'm used to a living wage. Everyone's time is worth something, no? It was a big budget Hollywood project after all. They did not oblige with a check, hence we did not oblige with leaving. We both sent, and mister Hollywood pants ran around the canyon pouting all day.

bergbryce · · California · Joined Aug 2009 · Points: 145

holy $hit this seems lame.
do people really buy climbing videos? i found masters of stone I and II at a flea market for a dollar and it was cool to watch, once.

so i guess people do buy them.

Rob Gordon · · Hollywood, CA · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 115