Mountain Project Logo

Reepschnur Rappel Inquiry

Original Post
William Sonoma · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2012 · Points: 3,550

I just bought 60m of 6mm cord because I am interested in trying this rappel/multi-pitch technique. I have no experience with it. I'm aware of some fatalities and that a backup is a must for consistent results (I'm going to use the alpine butterfly on the rappel line because my research says it doesn't jam like the figure 8 has for some people).

I read that this method isn't good (won't work is the way I interpretted it) on webbing or basically anything except bolts or carabiners. Therefore the author said not good for alpine.

Is this true? What is your experience? Could this reepschnur setup really not work on straight webbing or around a tree, etc? Does anyone have EXPERIENCE using this setup in the alpine environment or at all to say one way or the other?

Is a carabiner (or two) or something equivalent necessary to leave everytime I want to/need to rappel and am not at bolts with the reepschnur?

It seems as though it would work fine under most conditions/setups. I appreciate your time.

mark felber · · Wheat Ridge, CO · Joined Jul 2005 · Points: 41

For anyone who's wondering: traditionalmountaineering.o… .

This looks like a really good way to get hurt or killed, why do you want to do this?

You would have to use a rappel anchor that would stop the knot from passing from one side of the anchor to the other, so yes, a rappel ring or small carabiner would have to be left at each anchor. Looking at the photo in my link, the climber is using another carabiner as a backup. this would certainly prevent a catastrophic failure, but when the rope is pulled the carabiner is going to fall the length of the rappel, which is generally not good for carabiners. Also, the knots and carabiner used in the backup would be more likely to snag on something on the way down resulting in a stuck rope.