Mountain Project Logo

NOLS vs. SOLO for WFR course

Original Post
elg0086 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2012 · Points: 5

Anyone have a recommendation on WFR courses? Is SOLO or NOLS better? Or are they both the same?

Zach Wigham · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2012 · Points: 0

My qualifications: EMT-Basic, Wilderness Medicine Upgrade for medical professionals through WMI (of NOLS), WFR through WMI. No SOLO courses taken.

I recommend the Wilderness Medicine Institute and would recommend against SOLO. I am currently an undergrad studying adventure therapy in the northeast - many of my peers have taken SOLO WFR courses due to it's location. Having led professional trips with them, worked together in class, and gone on personal trips, I'd say that overall their wilderness medical skills and experience are not as good as other peers who have taken WMI or WMA courses.

As an organization, SOLO seems to be well-natured and respectable, but judging by the WFR-certified adventure professionals they've put out to the world, I'm skeptical of their educational quality.

Josh Kornish · · Whitefish, MT · Joined Sep 2009 · Points: 800

You're not going to get an unbiased answer. I really doubt anyone has taken a woofer through both NOLS and SOLO.

I'll throw you another great option. Aerie Backcountry Medicine

T.L. Kushner · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined May 2009 · Points: 5
Josh Kornish wrote:You're not going to get an unbiased answer. I really doubt anyone has taken a woofer through both NOLS and SOLO.
I haven't taken the full course with both, but i have taken a full WFR course with NOLS and i've done recerts with both groups. I happen to prefer NOLS. the instructors that i've worked with were better teachers. due to their locale in the rockies they tend to deal with people in more 'extreme' guiding scenarios. don't get me wrong. SOLO is an excellent program and they will give you a fantastic experience from knowledgable instructors.