Mountain Project Logo

Bolts Bolts Bolts

Gunkiemike · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 3,492
Carl Sherven wrote:I guess my question is "Why?" Why even give galvanic reactions a chance? You're spending the $$$ to make an all S/S setup to the anchor chains. Why not spend the extra few dollars to buy S/S quicklinks and chains? I'm seriously curious about this myself.
I'm not a metallurgist either, but I am a chemist.

I can offer one sound reason to put plated chains on SS anchors - so the corrosion has a place to take place. I accept that under the influence of the weather, acid rain etc, SOMETHING is going to corrode. According to well-understood chemistry, the most active metal is going to get oxidized. Aluminum is very active, so Al hangers are bad. Zinc is more active than steel, that's why it's used in galvanizing - the zinc is oxidized and so protects the steel. In underground fuel tanks, there is a strip of active metal somewhere for this same reason. It's called the sacrificial anode and needs to be replaced from time to time. Same deal with the unpainted magnesium tab on the lower end of outboard motors.

Anyway, if everything (bolt, hanger, chain) is SS you don't know where the corrosion will occur, but the wettest parts are the most likely sites. So hang a plated chain (or at the least, screw links) on it, and watch them rust. That tells you the stainless bits are good. When things look bad, replace the chains/links. The bolts are still good.
Wiled Horse · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2002 · Points: 3,669
Carl Sherven wrote:Why not spend the extra few dollars to buy S/S quicklinks and chains?
its more than just a few extra dollars to go all SS...
20 kN · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 1,346