Mountain Project Logo

What type of camera do you use?

Original Post
Robert Fielding · · Thousand Oaks, CA · Joined May 2011 · Points: 195

Alright photography experts, what do ya'll recommend for a light/efficient camera specifically for climbing.

I currently have a nikon d70 w/ tokina 12-24 mm lens which takes amazing photographs, but just weighs to much, and I barely take it climbing anymore.

Any suggestions for a compact digital SLR or compact camera. I'm an amateur photographer, and have delved into the manual settings, but usually use aperture mode or automatic.

So far i've been looking at some of the Nikon CoolPix cameras. I've heard a lot of good things about the lumix lx5. Any suggestions?

Woodchuck ATC · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 3,280

I'm guessing many use whatever camera function is in their i-Phone these days and skip the real camera efforts of photography.

Victor K · · Denver, CO · Joined Jul 2003 · Points: 170

I use a Nikon Coolpix P500, which I believe has already been superseded. The crazy zoom range is way cool and it's pretty small for a compact DSLR. Full HD movies and short, lo-res 120 FPS slow-mo are fun too. The bad: it only takes JPEGs, no RAW format, so you're not going to win any photo contests with it. The quality is best on low ISO settings. I'm really happy with it, particularly given the price ($350 at the time of purchase).

fossana · · leeds, ut · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 13,318

I'm about to go back to one of the Fuji FinePix. I had an F200, which threw a lens control error in the middle of a big route (after ~2 years of heavy climbing use). I can no longer get that model so I bought an F80. I had switched to a Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5, which takes great photos but is cumbersome to operate with one hand. If you want some examples my profile has a link to my Picasa album. Photos taken between Oct 2009 and Nov 2011 were taken with my FinePix. Newer ones used the Lumix.