Mountain Project Logo

Emergency hauling with an ATC Guide?

NickinCO · · colorado · Joined Sep 2010 · Points: 155
Beagle wrote:What is "emergency hauling"? I've been climbing for over 20 years and have never had to do this, should I be worried?
Wouldn't want you to worry too much! Labeled "emergency" I guess because if I was planning on doing any hauling it wouldn't be with an ATC. ;)

My fiance loves climbing but sometimes gets a little afraid of heights on very exposed routes. She's doing really good getting over it but sometimes she still freezes up.
David Hertel · · Haines, Alaska · Joined Oct 2008 · Points: 785
Mark Nelson wrote: Dave, it depends on your direction of travel; the reason why you're thinking of a load reduction by redirect is by doing a lowering, whereas an uphaul this friction would then work against you. Maybe the redirect you're thinking is more going from a 3:1, to a 5 or more; in which adding mechanical advantage is different than the redirect.
ok... i get how excess friction hinders your hauling efforts, but now im confused about the whole redirect thing. doesnt adding a mechanical advantage redirect the line? also causing more friction as the rope passes through each added biner?
David Hertel wrote: ok... i get how excess friction hinders your hauling efforts, but now im confused about the whole redirect thing. doesnt adding a mechanical advantage redirect the line? also causing more friction as the rope passes through each added biner?
Not sure if I understand your question but a mechanical advantage involves redirecting the line, but a redirect doesn't necessarily have any mechanical advantage. When building a mechanical advantage (3:1, 4:1, 6:1 etc etc) the mechanical advantage outweighs the additional friction put on the rope if using carabiners for the system. The best option is to use pulleys instead of biners if you know you'll be hauling.
DannyUncanny · · Vancouver · Joined Aug 2010 · Points: 100