Mountain Project Logo

I have [a little] experience but I'm a big fan of [climbing] ... I keep [a picture of me climbing on] my refrigerator. I'd like to put more [pictures there]. That's where you come in.

Original Post
michellesherie · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 0

Hi. I have some experience with climbing, but most of it has been from the ground, spotting, belaying, and taking photos. It's time for me to get on the rock!! My technique isn't too bad, and I can climb a 5.10a with very little cheating, hehe. I have never lead anything, but would like to get comfortable climbing, so that I can. I enjoy climbing with ropes, preferred over bouldering. I want to learn how to place gear properly and my goal is to climb a big wall some day.

I also love to take pictures of climbing, and would love to just pow wow along sometimes, just to take pictures. We could even "trade" pics for some "lessons"

Requirements:

NON stoners/drunks. I don't care if you do smoke and drink (preferable socially), just not while you are belaying me, please.

Patient! I'm new, and I get freaked out and need to just rest for a minute, or five, to wrap my mind around the fact that I am up high and it's actually OK.

Prefer:

Someone around my age. I'm 23 and would like to climb with people that are in the age range of 21 and 35, but I'm not super picky about this one.

Someone who is experience, and has good technique, because if I'm going to learn how to do this, I want to learn to do it the right way.

Tye · · salt lake city · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 0

Go to meetup.com and look up the salt lake valley climbers club. we have a group climbing at least once a week this summer, and we love to climb with anyone that is really interested in climbing.