Mountain Project Logo

What tele ski do you recomend

Original Post
Sergio P · · Idaho Springs, CO · Joined Oct 2004 · Points: 185

I’ve been riding Karu Jacks for the past 7 years. These are the old twin tip orange ones. They used to ride like a Cadillac but now they have the camber of a rubber band and have multiple core shots. Thus, I’m finally converting these to my rock skis. Since I haven’t been in the ski market for over 7 years I’m wondering what tele ski you would recommend.

Below are some specks to help you understand how I ski.
1. My current ski dimensions are about 170 long 120 at the tip and around 100 underfoot. I think I want to expand the tip and underfoot to around 130/105.
2. I will be mounting my hammer head bindings on what ever new ski I get
3. My boots are T2s
4. I spend about half my time in the back country and half at the resort
5. I tend to ski powder, trees, back country crud and soft bumps. I almost never get on hard pack.
6. Most people consider me an aggressive tele skier b/c I tend to get lower then necessary. Hey, I like my face shots!

So basically, I’m looking for a good all around ski and wondering if anyone has some good suggestions.

stredna · · PA · Joined Aug 2008 · Points: 135

you like the giants?

W.S. · · Montana · Joined Oct 2009 · Points: 65

Karhu doesn't make the Jak anymore, but they've got the Team 100 which at 130/100 is pretty close to your desired dimensions.

Honestly, I'm not going to be much help, but I bet these guys would have some suggestions for you: Telemark Tips

stredna wrote:you like the giants?
More like fanatic about the Giants.

Thanks WS for the link, I'll check it out.

Anyone else have personal suggestions?
dtomczik · · Bishop, CA · Joined Jan 2010 · Points: 75

G3 Reverends?

AJS · · Boulder, CO · Joined Mar 2008 · Points: 25